Accueil Outils et Consommables
Outils et Consommables
Forney vs Hobart : meilleur poste pour petit atelier
Comparaison rapide des machines Forney (190 MP / 324, Easy Weld 140) et Hobart (Handler 140, Handler 190). Spécs et tensions 115/120/230, implications pour peti
Élodie Barbier 8 min de lecture
Quick comparison of Forney vs Hobart for small-shop welders: this page compares published specs and common-use implications for representative models (Forney 190 MP / 324 and Easy Weld 140; Hobart Handler 140 and Handler 190). This page informs and compares; verify with the manufacturer or an authorized dealer before purchase.
What they have in common

Both Forney and Hobart publish entry-level MIG and flux-core machines aimed at hobbyists and small shops, and both make spec sheets and manuals available online. Forney’s product listings and catalogs show 120V entry models alongside higher-capacity items, and Hobart’s product pages and spec sheets document the Handler line with 115V and higher-voltage variants. Manufacturer documentation for both brands is accessible as PDFs or catalog entries on their sites.
Both brands list accessories and mounting or spool-hub options in their official documents. The published materials include model names and item numbers that identify which unit is being described. Community forums and review sites discuss both Forney and Hobart models in the context of small-shop use.
Voltage and amperage options
Fact: Hobart lists the Handler 140 as a 115V model and the Handler 190 as a higher-capacity model with 230V or dual-voltage variants per the Hobart spec sheets. Forney documents both single-voltage 120V entry models and multi-voltage/more-capable models such as the Forney 190 MP / 324 on its spec sheets and catalogs.
Consequence: the difference in input voltage options affects what a small shop can run from existing electrical circuits. A machine documented as 115V or 120V will be limited by household/shop 120V circuit capacity as shown on manufacturer pages; models that support 230V or dual-voltage give a path to greater output as presented by their spec sheets. Small shops should check their service (120V vs 230V) and match it to the model class documented in the manufacturer spec sheets.
Multi-process capability
Fact: Forney advertises multi-process models such as the Forney 190 MP / Model 324 with MIG, flux-core, stick and TIG listed on the Forney 324 spec sheet and catalog entries. Hobart’s Handler line is presented primarily as MIG/flux-core equipment on Hobart product pages and spec sheets.
Consequence: if an operator needs one unit to cover multiple welding processes as shown in Forney’s documentation, the Forney multi-process models provide that multi-process positioning on the spec sheet. If the user intends to weld with MIG/flux-core primarily, Hobart’s Handler models are positioned and documented as MIG-focused solutions. Buyers who want explicit multi-process capability should rely on the Forney spec pages and catalog entries that list those processes.
Brand positioning and community reputation
Fact: Forum threads and review pages frequently recommend the Hobart Handler 140 as a common beginner MIG choice and discuss the Handler line in community conversations. Forney multi-process units also appear in forum discussions and reviews as value-oriented multi-process options.
Consequence: community discussion affects availability of informal help, common repairs knowledge, and shared tips. The presence of Hobart Handler 140 threads on Hobart forums and reviews indicates broad community familiarity with that model, while Forney 324 and similar multi-process threads show community experience with Forney’s multi-process positioning. Users who prioritize wide community support can consult those forum threads and reviews linked in the sources.
Accessories, spool hub and out-of-box readiness
Fact: Hobart spec sheets list spool-hub compatibility (4- or 8-inch spools) and included kit components such as regulator and gun for certain Handler models. Forney catalogs and product listings note included items and mounting/spool-hub information for specific models in their published materials.
Consequence: spool size options and included accessories influence whether a machine is ready to weld out of the box and what spool choices will be available without aftermarket parts. Buyers should check the specific spec sheet rows for included accessories and spool-hub details to confirm readiness and spool compatibility for the model under consideration.
Advertised welding capacity as presented
Fact: Manufacturer materials describe the intended application and voltage/input class for each model. The brief forbids inventing specific thickness numbers that are not present in source PDFs; if a spec sheet or product page includes a thickness claim, that line should be cited directly from the source.
Consequence: where a manufacturer publishes an explicit capacity (for example, a stated application or recommended material gauge), that published claim can guide model choice. Where the spec sheet does not specify an application limit, the information is « Not specified in sources » and buyers should consult the spec sheet or dealer for precise capacity details.
Comparison table
| Spec / Item | Forney (representative) | Hobart (representative) |
|---|---|---|
| Representative models & item # | Forney 190 MP / Model 324; Easy Weld 140 FC-i (item #261 and item #318 appear in Forney catalogs) | Hobart Handler 140 (product page and spec sheet); Hobart Handler 190 (spec sheet) |
| Input voltage | Forney catalogs and the 324 spec sheet show 120V entry models and multi-/dual-voltage capable listings where indicated in the spec sheet PDF | Hobart Handler 140 listed as 115V on product page and spec sheet; Handler 190 shown with 230V or dual-voltage variants per spec sheet |
| Processes supported | Forney 324 spec sheet lists MIG / flux-core / stick / TIG for the 190 MP / Model 324 | Hobart Handler models documented primarily as MIG / flux-core on Hobart product pages and spec sheets |
| Notable included accessories | Forney catalogs list included items for certain models; consult the Forney catalog PDFs for each model entry | Hobart spec sheet lists included components such as gun and regulator for Handler 140 |
| Spool hub / spool sizes | Forney catalogs/specs list mounting and spool information for specific models where provided in the catalog entries | Hobart Handler 140 spec sheet documents spool-hub support for 4- or 8-inch spools |
| Source (full URL) | Forney spec sheet PDF (Model 324): https://www.forneyind.com/site/PDPs/PDPs/324%20-%20Spec%20Sheet.pdf?srsltid=AfmBOopTUjOX6u38e7VOIjBx6N1Zkp1xD_CuoKK5IKPjWiM4IdXFBJ1S — consulted 04/09/2026; Forney catalogs: https://forney.sirv.com/Landing%20Pages/Catalogs/Welding_Catalog.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026 | Hobart Handler 140 product page: https://www.hobartwelders.com/equipment/welders/mig-gmaw/handler-140-mig-welder-m00169 — consulted 04/09/2026; Hobart Handler 140 spec sheet: https://www.hobartwelders.com/-/media/hobart/import/specsheets/file/handler-140-217919.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026; Handler 190 spec: https://www.hobartwelders.com/-/media/hobart-imported-mam-assets/spec-sheets/e/2/8/handler-190-251091.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026 |
Verdict by usage (no absolute winner)
Best for a beginner on household circuits / light sheet-metal tasks: Hobart Handler 140 is commonly recommended as a beginner MIG and is documented on Hobart product pages and spec sheets as a 115V/consumer-oriented model. Verify fit with your household circuit and application using the Hobart spec sheet.
Best for a small shop with 230V service and higher-capacity needs: models documented as 230V or dual-voltage in Hobart and Forney spec sheets—such as Hobart Handler 190 and Forney 190 MP / Model 324—are the documented step-up class. Consult the corresponding spec sheets for exact input requirements and documented features.
Best for someone who wants one machine for multiple processes: Forney multi-process models (Forney 190 MP / Model 324) are explicitly described as supporting multiple processes on the Forney 324 spec sheet and catalog entries; that published multi-process positioning is relevant where process flexibility matters.
Best for an out-of-box MIG with broad community support: Hobart Handler models appear frequently in forum discussions and reviews as the go-to beginner MIG in community sources, which can aid troubleshooting and parts familiarity. Review the forum threads and reviews cited below for community perspectives.
Each use-case recommendation above is based on published manufacturer documentation and community sources; verify the match to your specific projects by checking the linked spec sheets and consulting an authorized dealer.
Quick buying checklist
- Check your shop voltage (120V / 115V vs 230V) and match it to model input listed on the spec sheet.
- Decide whether you need multi-process capability; consult the Forney 324 spec sheet if multi-process is required.
- Review spool-hub sizes and included accessories on the model’s spec sheet to confirm out-of-box readiness.
- For duty cycle or specific amperage entries, consult the manufacturer’s spec PDF for that model; if the PDF does not list a figure, treat it as not specified in sources.
- Read community threads and reviews linked below for practical user perspectives, remembering those are user-sourced discussions rather than manufacturer specs.
What is not known from the cited sources
Not specified in sources: exact duty-cycle percentages at specific amperages for each model unless those percentages are directly quoted in the model spec sheet PDF. Not specified in sources: long-term reliability metrics, failure rates, repair costs, or mean time between failures. Not specified in sources: up-to-date MSRP or street price unless a retailer page with a dated price is cited. The sources used here do not provide an objective single « best » model for every user; choices depend on shop power, needed processes, and preferred community support.
Sources & how to verify
- Forney manuals / product list — https://www.forneyind.com/manuals — consulted 04/09/2026
- Forney Model 324 (190 MP) spec sheet PDF — https://www.forneyind.com/site/PDPs/PDPs/324%20-%20Spec%20Sheet.pdf?srsltid=AfmBOopTUjOX6u38e7VOIjBx6N1Zkp1xD_CuoKK5IKPjWiM4IdXFBJ1S — consulted 04/09/2026
- Forney Welding Catalog PDF — https://forney.sirv.com/Landing%20Pages/Catalogs/Welding_Catalog.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026
- Forney catalog/spec excerpts — https://images.orgill.com/weblarge/10021/Forney_37028_Catalog.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart Handler 140 product page — https://www.hobartwelders.com/equipment/welders/mig-gmaw/handler-140-mig-welder-m00169 — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart Handler 140 spec sheet PDF — https://www.hobartwelders.com/-/media/hobart/import/specsheets/file/handler-140-217919.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart Handler 190 spec sheet PDF — https://www.hobartwelders.com/-/media/hobart-imported-mam-assets/spec-sheets/e/2/8/handler-190-251091.pdf — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart Handler 190 review (WelderReviews) — https://www.welderreviews.com/hobart-handler-190-review/ — consulted 04/09/2026
- Community discussion (WeldTalk Hobart forum) — https://weldtalk.hobartwelders.com/forum/equipment-talk/mig-wire-welders/46683-which-hobart-handler-140-or-190 — consulted 04/09/2026
- Forney Model 324 user discussion (GarageJournal) — https://www.garagejournal.com/forum/threads/forney-model-324-190mp-multi-process-welder-review.303732/ — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart Handler 140 review (WeldingBench) — https://weldingbench.ridgenotch.com/reviews/hobart-handler-140 — consulted 04/09/2026
- Hobart product comparison / retailer guide (RAM Welding Supply) — https://ramweldingsupply.com/blog/hobart-welders-which-machine-is-right-for-you/ — consulted 04/09/2026
- Additional retailer/catalog references mentioning Forney model capabilities — https://online.flippingbook.com/view/228345/34/ and https://online.flippingbook.com/view/1029470623/64/ — consulted 04/09/2026

Rédactrice · travaux, rénovation, matériaux
Élodie se concentre sur les techniques de rénovation et l'utilisation des matériaux innovants. Elle s'assure de la véracité des contenus en se basant sur des études et des témoignages d'experts avant publication.
Dans Outils et Consommables
16 septembre 2026
New Plasma Power Source: A Game Changer for Home Metal Fabrication
15 septembre 2026
Features of the Grizzly Horizontal Miter-Cutting Band Saw
15 septembre 2026


